The Baltimore Banner won 48 reporting awards this week from the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association, including five “Best of Show” awards that recognize the top overall entry among all the nominees in a category.

Investigative reporter Brenna Smith won two “Best of Show” honors for a deeply reported story that followed one woman in her search for justice after nearly $3,000 in Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits were stolen from her. Smith later turned the story into part of an episode of the radio show “This American Life.” The story won the top prize in the Public Service and News-Driven Multimedia Storytelling categories.

Enterprise reporter Tim Prudente’s feature on one of the world’s preeminent Bach pianists, Agi Jambor, and her century-old Steinway that now sits quiet, won the top award for Arts and Entertainment Reporting. Photojournalist Kaitlin Newman won in the General News Photo category for photos of an event held by Baltimore Ceasefire 365 activists, and columnist Leslie Gray Streeter won the Local Column: Critical Thinking category with her piece on squeegee workers.

Truthe Woodard, 4, and Koddee Shelton, 5, wave their signs at cars during the ceasefire rally. BMORE Ceasefire 365 held a press conference to alert the community that they will be rebranding to include more positive and uplifting imagery in their logo on corner of Allendale Street and Edmondson Avenue on Nov. 4. 2022. (Kaitlin Newman/The Baltimore Banner)

The contest, which recognizes print and online work completed in 2022 by outlets across the region, featured more than 1,400 submissions across 85 categories this year. Entries were judged by the Louisiana Press Association.

The Baltimore Banner thanks its sponsors. Become one.

The Banner also won division-wide first and second place awards for its education reporting, state and local government reporting, religion reporting, investigative reporting and social media reporting, among others.

Since The Banner was not eligible to submit entries as an organization because the site has not been publishing for an entire year, individual journalists submitted their work for consideration.

Here are the divisional winners:

More From The Banner