For those looking to support the mission of The Baltimore Banner, we are powered by our community of readers and donors as a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. We rely on the generous support of individuals and institutions in Baltimore, Maryland, and beyond to become one of the region’s largest and most diverse newsrooms.

If you decide to invest in our independent, local journalism, your gift will be used as follows:

  • Your contributions directly support the work of the newsroom.
  • Unrestricted gifts enhance our coverage and enable important innovations in presenting the news.
  • Donors can also support broad editorial strands set forth by our editors. As examples, foundations and corporations can support more robust investigative reporting on issues we cover, underwrite digital access for populations that cannot afford subscriptions and are most in need of information, or support digital news delivery innovations.

Your gifts translate into real impact and better outcomes for the communities we cover. Read more about The Banner's impact here.

The Venetoulis Institute for Local Journalism is the 501(c)3 nonprofit umbrella and publisher of The Baltimore Banner. The Institute’s tax identification number is 86-1715499.

For questions about supporting The Baltimore Banner, please contact You can also read more in our Gift Acceptance Policy. You can access our Guidestar profile here.

Founding Members: Leading the Charge for Quality Local Journalism

Dedicated individuals and organizations from our community who are supporting the mission and vision of The Baltimore Banner can become Founding Members by contributing a minimum of $2,500 annually to help us realize the mission.

Founding Members enjoy recognition on our website as those critical “first supporters” of The Banner. They also receive special early invitations to exclusive in-person and virtual events featuring our editors and reporters, along with special limited-run Baltimore Banner items designed exclusively for Founders. Become a Founding Member today! Help us to envision a new and revitalized model for delivering local news for Baltimore and its community members.

Thanking Our Supporters

Below we are proud to acknowledge and thank the following individuals and institutions that are supporting The Baltimore Banner!

This list will be updated regularly. We endeavor to ensure its accuracy; however if you notice errors or omissions, please email us at:

Institutional Supporters


Bunting Family Foundation
Jack Dwyer and CFG Bank
Goldseker Foundation*


Ford Foundation
John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
Sherman Family Foundation*


Abell Foundation*
Charlene and Bruce Bainum, through Fidelity Charitable
Bainum Family Foundation
The Robert W. Deutsch Foundation*
Google News Initiative
Patricia and Mark Joseph, The Shelter Foundation*
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation


The Annie E. Casey Foundation*
The Richman Foundation*


Joseph & Harvey Meyerhoff Family Charitable Funds
Wildbasil Fund, through Vanguard Charitable

Individual Supporters

$100,000+ Founding Members

Roberta Bainum, through the Greater Washington Community Foundation
Rheda Becker and Robert E. Meyerhoff

$10,000+ Founding Members—Headline Level

Dana M. DiCarlo and J. Scott Plank
Nancy Dorman and Stan Mazaroff
Barbara Shapiro, The Barbara and Sig Shapiro Philanthropic Fund

$5,000+ Founding Members—Byline Level

Susan Anthony
Martin Knott
Robyne Lyles and Mark Thistle, FreedomCar
Maria and Rick Martinez
Corry Prohens
Vicky and Brett Rogers
Michael Rosenbaum and Amy Kiesel
Lynn Venetoulis

$2,500+ Founding Members—Beat Level

Bruce and Polly Behrens
Gary Ditto, Who... a staffing company
Kelly Ennis, The Verve Partnership
Pat Lasher and Richard Jacobs
Beth Lebow
Rob Moxley
Connie and Imtiaz Patel
Prugh Family Fund
David Simon
Southway Builders Charitable Trust, Inc.
Lenel Srochi-Meyerhoff and John Meyerhoff
Priscilla and Jim Walters
Grant Whitmore
Laura Whitney and John Ford
Kimi Yoshino


David S. Bliden and Susanne Brogan
Kristine and Michael Booth-Smets
Allison Buchalter
Benedicte Clouet and Eric Ulken
Marilynn Duker
J.P. Grant
Nancy S. Grasmick
Sandra Hess
Erik Hummel
William (Bill) L. Jews
Kenneth and Bonny Lewis
Charles Obrecht
Scott Smith
Amy and Bill Warren
DeWayne Wickham
Crickett and Brad Woloson
Leon Vainikos

* Indicates a multi-year gift