Mount St. Joe looks poised to give the MIAA Wrestling Tournament field a fit

Gaels have seven No. 1 seeds, Gilman and Loyola have two top seeds apiece; See seeds for each weight class here

Published 2/9/2023 7:29 a.m. EST, Updated 2/9/2023 10:58 a.m. EST

Carter Nogle of Mount St. Joseph scored a 5-1 win over Bryan Santangelo of Bullis School in the 120 lbs. War on the Shore final.

The MIAA wrestling tournament will run as a single-day affair on Saturday at Gilman. The seeding meeting revealed No. 1 Mount St. Joseph to be a heavy favorite. Injuries have taken a toll on No. 4 Gilman and No. 7 Loyola, weakening their chances of a miraculous win.

The Gaels will be looking to bring home their second straight MIAA title. Prior to the lost COVID year, St. Joe finished second to McDonogh. The Gaels did win the state crown that year and have a five-year stranglehold on that distinction.

Sitting atop their brackets for St. Joe are Joseph Cooper (106), Jake Tamai (113), Carter Nogle (120), Coleman Nogle (126), Cameron Cannaday (150), Nicolas Barnabae (165) and Bryce Phillips (215).

Coming in as seconds seeds are Ben Smith (157), Austin Lewis (175), and Gavin Bage (285). Maximus Conley (132) and Jaden Diggs (138) received No. 3 seeds. Marcel Procopio is seeded eighth at 144.

Carter Nogle and Bage will likely face seasonal rubber matches in their finals. Nogle lost a dual meet encounter with Spalding’s Sean Garretson, then rebounded to beat him in the John Kelly Memorial tournament finals at Ocean Lakes High School in Virginia. Bage took the opposite route with Loyola’s Luke Randazzo, beating his foe at a tournament (Beast of the East seventh place match), only to fall in their dual meet.

Gilman’s Sherlock Brothers are the top seeds in their weight classes, Tyson (132) and Emmitt (138). Carson Mingo comes in as the No. 2 seed at 190.

In addition to Randazzo, Judah Aybar (144) was given a No. 1 seed for Loyola. The Dons have two second seeds, Jayden Jackson (106) and Cayden Farver (113).

Noah Onkst (190) is McDonogh’s lone top dog. Connor Bollinger was seeded second at 138 for the Eagles. John Carroll’s Ian Moccia (157) and Severn’s Reid Gills (175) round out the No. 1 seeds.

No. 21 Archbishop Spalding was given second seeds in four weights, Garretson, Vincent Paolucci (126), Zane Leitzel (132), and Charlie Gessford (144). No. 16 Calvert Hall had one No. 2 seed, Sisto Averno III (165).

St. Frances Academy is excelling in their inaugural season. The Panthers are currently ranked eighth in the state. While they had no No. 1 seeds, two wrestlers are No. 2 seeds, Chase Carpintieri (150) and Camren Wright (215).

The Panthers entered eleven wrestlers and ten of them received seeds. Seeded No. 3 are Christian Wright (113), LaDaynean Simpson (144), and James Carrington (285). Kamren Griffin (120), Jason Wright (138), Derrick Grant (165), and Douglas Johnson (190) were four seeds. Noah Shird received the fifth seed at 126.

Schedule (times are approximate):

9:30 AM – Matches Begin on 4 Mats (1st Round, Quarter Finals, 1st Round Consolations, Quarter Final Consolations)

12:30 PM – Championship Semifinals on 2 Mats, 3rd Round Consolation on 2 Mats, Consolation Semi Finals (2 Mats)

3:00 PM – Finals (1st, 3rd, 5th on 3 Mats)



1-Joseph Cooper (Mt. St. Joe)

2-Jayden Jackson (Loyola)

3-Eli Chesla (Spalding)

4-Abdallah Alguran (Curley)

5-Anders Martin (Gilman)

6-Robbie Garcia (McDonogh)


1-Jake Tamai (Mt. St. Joe)

2-Cayden Farver (Loyola)

3-Christian Wright (St. Frances Academy)

4-Henry Gessford (Spalding)

5-Sawyer Enright (Gilman)

6-Kamal Fisher (Pallotti)


1-Carter Nogle (Mt. St. Joe)

2-Sean Garretson (Spalding)

3-Zach Glory (Gilman)

4-Kamren Griffin (St. Frances Academy)

5-Joshua Jackson (Calvert Hall)

6-Roy Sharma (Glenelg Country School)


1-Coleman Nogle (Mt. St. Joe)

2-Vincent Paolucci (Spalding)

3-Griffin Stewart (Calvert Hall)

4-Nick Melfi (Severn)

5-Noah Shird (St. Frances Academy)

6-Josh Hale (Loyola)

7-Michael Banks (Mt. Carmel)


1-Tyson Sherlock (Gilman)

2-Zane Leitzel (Spalding)

3-Maximus Conley (Mt. St. Joe)

4-Jack Bruffey (Gerstell Academy)

5-Aidan Kammar (Calvert Hall)

6-EJ Hill (Boys’ Latin)


1-Emmitt Sherlock (Gilman)

2-Connor Bollinger (McDonogh)

3-Jaden Diggs (Mt. St. Joe)

4-Jason Wright (St. Frances Academy)

5-Matt Lombardo (Calvert Hall)

6-Matthew Scholz (Gerstell Academy)


1-Judah Aybar (Loyola)

2-Charlie Gessford (Spalding)

3-LaDaynean Simpson (St. Frances Academy)

4-Landon Bell (Gerstell Academy)

5-Cadigan Kimball (St. Paul’s)

6-Buck Franklin (Gilman)

7-Rhys Edwards (Glenelg Country School)

8-Marcello Procopio (Mt. St. Joe)


1-Cameron Cannaday (Mt. St. Joe)

2-Chase Carpintieri (St. Frances Academy)

3-Sameer Nasir (Gerstell Academy)

4-Trevyn Suskowicz (John Carroll)

5-Darren List (Curley)

6-Finn Smith (Loyola)

7-Adam Malinowski (Calvert Hall)


1-Ian Moccia (John Carroll)

2-Ben Smith (Mt. St. Joe)

3-Allan Gushue (Gilman)

4-Michael Binder (Gerstell Academy)

5-Hayden Myers (St. Paul’s)

6-Joel Nagy (Calvert Hall)


1-Nicolas Barnabae (Mt. St. Joe)

2-Sisto Averno III (Calvert Hall)

3-JJ Dimonte (McDonogh)

4-Derrick Grant (St. Frances Academy)

5-Roewn Myers (Gerstell Academy)

6-George Bezhanishvilli (St. Paul’s)


1-Reid Gills (Severn)

2-Austin Lewis (Mt. St. Joe)

3-Duncan Kammar (Calvert Hall)

4-Alder Cartrider (St. Paul’s)

5-Nick Haughey (Gilman)

6-Aaron Moccia (John Carroll)


1-Noah Onkst (McDonogh)

2-Carson Mingo (Gilman)

3-Aiden Bird (Loyola)

4-Douglas Johnson (St. Frances Academy)

5-Hudson Holmes (Friends School)

6-Howard Otto (Calvert Hall)

7-Kahlil Regan (Curley)

8-Justin Brown (St. Paul’s)


1-Bryce Phillips (Mt. St. Joe)

2-Camren Wright (St. Frances Academy)

3-Wesley Seba (Gilman)

4-Chance Miller (Loyola)

5-Brandon Lewis (Curley)

6-Maxwell Garland (Calvert Hall)

7-Jack Hayman (Severn)


1-Luke Randazzo (Loyola)

2-Gavin Bage (Mt. St. Joe)

3-James Carrington (St. Frances Academy)

4-Maxwell Ohamuo (Calvert Hall)

5-Bryce Wilson (Gilman)

6-William Brockel (St. Paul’s)

7-Christian McLeer-Irons (Pallotti)

8-Alan Scheffers (Severn)

More from The Banner