Ravens LB Roquan Smith continues incredible week with All-Pro honors; 2 others recognized

Published 1/13/2023 12:48 p.m. EST, Updated 1/13/2023 4:07 p.m. EST

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA - NOVEMBER 07: Alvin Kamara of the New Orleans Saints is tackled by Roquan Smith of the Baltimore Ravens during the second quarter at Caesars Superdome on November 07, 2022 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Roquan Smith might be having the best week of his life.

The Ravens inside linebacker was named first-team All-Pro by the Associated Press for the first time in his career Friday, the sixth straight day in which Smith has enjoyed some personal or team accomplishment.

On Sunday, he tied a season high with 16 tackles in the Ravens’ 27-16 loss to the Cincinnati Bengals. He finished the regular season with a career-high 169 tackles, third most in the NFL, along with 4 1/2 sacks and 11 tackles for loss.

On Monday, his alma mater, Georgia, repeated as College Football Playoff champion with a 65-7 shellacking of Texas Christian.

On Tuesday, he agreed to a five-year, $100 million contract extension with the Ravens, the biggest-ever deal for an off-ball linebacker in NFL history.

On Wednesday, he was named the team’s Most Valuable Player, an award voted on by local media who cover the team.

On Thursday, he was named the AFC Defensive Player of the Month for December/January for the first time in his career.

And on Friday, he followed up back-to-back second-team All-Pro honors from the AP, earned during his third and fourth seasons with the Chicago Bears, with first-team honors.

“Thankful for everyone that has helped me be in this position that I’m in, like making my dreams come true and living it out,” Smith said Wednesday. “It’s an amazing feeling, and I feel like I’m just getting started. I just want to continue to do my best, and just keep getting better year in and year out to bring many championships here.”

Ravens kicker Justin Tucker earned second-team All-Pro honors after going 37-for-43 (86.0%) on field goal attempts and 31-for-32 on extra-point attempts. Tucker, the most accurate kicker in NFL history, is a five-time first-team All-Pro.

Long snapper Nick Moore was also named second-team All-Pro in his second year as a starter.

Sign Up for Alerts
Get notified of need-to-know
info from The Banner

Here are the AP’s All-Pro teams.



Quarterback — Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City

Running back — Josh Jacobs, Las Vegas

Tight end — Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Wide receivers — Justin Jefferson, Minnesota; Tyreek Hill, Miami; Davante Adams, Las Vegas

Left tackle — Trent Williams, San Francisco

Right tackle — Lane Johnson, Philadelphia

Left guard — Joel Bitonio, Cleveland

Right guard — Zack Martin, Dallas

Center — Jason Kelce, Philadelphia


Edge rushers — Nick Bosa, San Francisco; Micah Parsons, Dallas

Interior linemen — Chris Jones, Kansas City; Quinnen Williams, New York Jets

Linebackers — Fred Warner, San Francisco; Roquan Smith, Baltimore; Matt Milano, Buffalo

Cornerbacks — Sauce Gardner, New York Jets; Patrick Surtain II, Denver

Safeties — Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh; Talanoa Hufanga, San Francisco


Placekicker — Daniel Carlson, Las Vegas

Punter — Tommy Townsend, Kansas City

Kick returner — Keisean Nixon, Green Bay

Punt returner — Marcus Jones, New England

Special teamer — Jeremy Reaves, Washington

Long snapper — Andrew DePaola, Minnesota



Quarterback — Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia

Running back — Nick Chubb, Cleveland

Tight end — George Kittle, San Francisco

Wide receivers — A.J. Brown, Philadelphia; Stefon Diggs, Buffalo; CeeDee Lamb, Dallas

Left tackle — Andrew Thomas, New York Giants

Right tackle — Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay

Left guard — Joe Thuney, Kansas City

Right guard — Chris Lindstrom, Atlanta

Center — Creed Humphrey, Kansas City


Edge rushers — Myles Garrett, Cleveland; Haason Reddick, Philadelphia

Interior linemen — Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants; Jeffery Simmons, Tennessee

Linebackers — Bobby Wagner, Los Angeles Rams; C.J. Mosley, New York Jets; Demario Davis, New Orleans.

Cornerbacks — Jaire Alexander, Green Bay; James Bradberry, Philadelphia

Safeties — Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers; Justin Simmons, Denver


Placekicker — Justin Tucker, Baltimore

Punter — Ryan Stonehouse, Tennessee

Kick returner — Kene Nwangwu, Minnesota

Punt returner — Kalif Raymond, Detroit

Special teamer — George Odum, San Francisco

Long snapper — Nick Moore, Baltimore